Bridgette & the Red bull

‘Brigette and the Red Bull’
(8-13-2016)

SHE …
sits near me
on the bench at Dave’s
folded into/onto herself …
drinking the LARGEST can of Red Bull I have ever seen!

I regard her … covertly

blacken white tennis shoes
unlaced
with worn sides that fit the shape of her busied feet …
her petite hands/ are …
dwarfed …
gripping the phallic Red Bull can …
i regard her

stained finger tips with uneven nailbeds …
evoke her arduous climbing on this mountain of life.
you know …
the fortunate choose … their summits
others ….
have it placed before them

I regard her

her eyes are light brown & dulled
they look tortured …
directed in what must be done

I regard her

her hair … is a kinky golden brown …
tossed & matted ‘in her kitchen’
in a ‘no fucks’ tired gathering

her shapely cracked lips will be beautiful again … one day … when the stealth determination is eased

I regard her

all about her is …
YOUTH …
submerged

I ask … what’s your name? Brigette, she states.

I say, “Are you going to drink all of that Red Bull? That shit will kill you!”

Yes. Brigette states … apologetically
“I have to stay awake.
I work 2 jobs and sleep 4 hours a day.

I-HAVE-TO-STAY-AWAKE.

I am going to the factory.
I am paying my college tuition
I graduate next year.

These confessions …
empty from her mouth …
as if …
as if …
as if … cathartic affirmations

I HAVE TO STAY AWAKE.

her words RUN and run and run …
into me
and splatter …
into spaces of my heart

Here … at Dave’s … on this bench
SHE has stopped simply to refuel & sleep
eyes-wide-open

I regard her

how old are you?
21
That shit will KILL you!
"I know” she says.
“I have some pain.
But …
"I HAVE TO STAY AWAKE.”

I’ll be the first one in my family to graduate.

Besides …
my uncle worked 3 minimum wage jobs.
He was exhausted.
He died … at work.
Eyes-wide-shut.

I simply … regard her.
This angel
This warrior
This Goddess
all …

Black Grrl Magic❤ #

(Pause)
(Stare)
I have to stay awake

I have to stay awake

I have to … stay awake.

Brahms 3rd Movement (Poco allegretto)
https://youtu.be/2tB2SLLnPZg

 
0
Kudos
 
0
Kudos

Now read this

Štěstí

“Martha: I disgust me. You know, there’s only been one man in my whole life who’s ever made me happy. Do you know that? [pause] Martha: George, my husband… George, who is out somewhere there in the dark, who is good to me - whom I... Continue →